Bank of America Premium Rewards Elite Credit Card vs Chase Sapphire Reserve
Fees, rewards and real yearly value, side by side. Updated October 29, 2026.
Bank of America Premium Rewards Elite Credit Card
Estimated value every year on typical spending
$193/ year
Every year, after the annual fee. Year one adds a $750 welcome bonus: $943
Chase Sapphire Reserve
Estimated value every year on typical spending
−$57/ year
Every year, after the annual fee. Year one adds a $1,000 welcome bonus: $943
The short answer
- On typical spending, the Bank of America Premium Rewards Elite Credit Card comes out ahead: about $193 a year after its fee, against −$57 for the Chase Sapphire Reserve.
- The Bank of America Premium Rewards Elite Credit Card earns more on groceries, gas, travel, everything else.
- The Chase Sapphire Reserve earns more on dining.
- The Bank of America Premium Rewards Elite Credit Card costs $245 less a year to hold.
Side by side
| Bank of America Premium Rewards Elite Credit Card | Chase Sapphire Reserve | |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | $550 | $795 |
| Rewards | 2 points for every dollar spent on travel and dining purchases; 1.5 points per dollar on all other purchases | 8x points on all purchases through Chase Travel; 4x points on flights and hotels booked direct; 3x points on dining worldwide; 1x point on all other purchases |
| Welcome bonus | 75,000 online bonus points offer — a $750 value after you make at least $5,000 in purchases in the first 90 days of account opening | Earn 100,000 points after you spend $6,000 in purchases in the first 3 months from account opening. |
| Credits counted | $233/yr | $330/yr |
| Intro APR | Not applicable | Not listed |
| Regular APR | 19.74% to 27.74% variable | 19.74% to 28.24% variable |
| Foreign transaction fee | None | None |
| Credit needed | Not specified | Not specified |
Yearly rewards by category
| Category (monthly spend) | Bank of America Premium Rewards Elite Credit Card | Chase Sapphire Reserve |
|---|---|---|
| groceries ($500) | $90 | $60 |
| dining ($400) | $96 | $144 |
| gas ($200) | $36 | $24 |
| travel ($300) | $72 | $36 |
| everything else ($1,200) | $216 | $144 |
Yearly value is rewards plus credits you'd realistically use, minus the annual fee, on $2,600/month: $500 groceries, $400 dining, $200 gas, $300 travel, $1,200 everything else. Points use conservative cash values; store-only rewards count at half. How we rank · Use your own spending
Questions people ask
Which is better, the Bank of America Premium Rewards Elite Credit Card or the Chase Sapphire Reserve?
On typical spending the Bank of America Premium Rewards Elite Credit Card is worth more: about $193 a year after its fee, against −$57 for the Chase Sapphire Reserve. Which is better for you depends on where you spend most; see the category answers below.
Which has the lower annual fee?
The Bank of America Premium Rewards Elite Credit Card ($550 a year, against $795).
Which is better for groceries?
The Bank of America Premium Rewards Elite Credit Card. On $500 a month of groceries it earns about $90 a year, against $60 with the Chase Sapphire Reserve.
Which is better for dining?
The Chase Sapphire Reserve. On $400 a month of dining it earns about $144 a year, against $96 with the Bank of America Premium Rewards Elite Credit Card.
Which is better for travel?
The Bank of America Premium Rewards Elite Credit Card. On $300 a month of travel it earns about $72 a year, against $36 with the Chase Sapphire Reserve.
Which is better for gas?
The Bank of America Premium Rewards Elite Credit Card. On $200 a month of gas it earns about $36 a year, against $24 with the Chase Sapphire Reserve.
Put any two cards head to head.
Pick any cards, including ones you already hold, and compare them on your own spending.
Open CompareRelated comparisons
- Platinum Card vs Chase Sapphire Reserve
- Chase Sapphire Reserve vs Venture X
- Citi Strata Elite Card vs Chase Sapphire Reserve
- Chase Sapphire Preferred Credit Card vs Chase Sapphire Reserve
Card details are collected from issuer websites and were last refreshed October 29, 2026. Terms change often; confirm them with the issuer before you apply.

