Hilton Honors American Express Surpass Card vs Hilton Honors American Express Aspire Card
Fees, rewards and real yearly value, side by side. Updated October 29, 2026.
Hilton Honors American Express Surpass Card
Estimated value every year on typical spending
$76/ year
Every year, after the annual fee. Year one adds a $650 welcome bonus: $726
Hilton Honors American Express Aspire Card
Estimated value every year on typical spending
$254/ year
Every year, after the annual fee. Year one adds a $1,000 welcome bonus: $1,254
The short answer
- On typical spending, the Hilton Honors American Express Aspire Card comes out ahead: about $254 a year after its fee, against $76 for the Hilton Honors American Express Surpass Card.
- The Hilton Honors American Express Aspire Card earns more on groceries, dining, gas, travel, everything else.
- The Hilton Honors American Express Surpass Card costs $400 less a year to hold.
Side by side
| Hilton Honors American Express Surpass Card | Hilton Honors American Express Aspire Card | |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | $150 | $550 |
| Rewards | 12X Hilton Honors Bonus Points on eligible Hilton purchases; 6X Points at U.S. restaurants, supermarkets, and gas stations | 14x Points on purchases made directly with hotels and resorts within the Hilton Portfolio; 7x Points on select travel and dining; 3x Points on other eligible purchases |
| Welcome bonus | Earn 130,000 Hilton Honors Bonus Points + A Free Night Reward after you spend $3,000 in purchases on the Hilton Honors American Express Surpass® Card in the first 6 months of Card Membership. | Earn 200,000 Hilton Honors Bonus Points with the Hilton Honors American Express Aspire Card after you spend $6,000 in purchases on the Card within your first 6 months of Card Membership. |
| Credits counted | $70/yr | $240/yr |
| Intro APR | Not listed | Not listed |
| Regular APR | 19.74% to 28.74% variable | 19.74% to 28.74% variable |
| Foreign transaction fee | None | None |
| Credit needed | Not specified | Not specified |
Yearly rewards by category
| Category (monthly spend) | Hilton Honors American Express Surpass Card | Hilton Honors American Express Aspire Card |
|---|---|---|
| groceries ($500) | $30 | $90 |
| dining ($400) | $24 | $168 |
| gas ($200) | $12 | $36 |
| travel ($300) | $18 | $54 |
| everything else ($1,200) | $72 | $216 |
Yearly value is rewards plus credits you'd realistically use, minus the annual fee, on $2,600/month: $500 groceries, $400 dining, $200 gas, $300 travel, $1,200 everything else. Points use conservative cash values; store-only rewards count at half. How we rank · Use your own spending
Questions people ask
Which is better, the Hilton Honors American Express Surpass Card or the Hilton Honors American Express Aspire Card?
On typical spending the Hilton Honors American Express Aspire Card is worth more: about $254 a year after its fee, against $76 for the Hilton Honors American Express Surpass Card. Which is better for you depends on where you spend most; see the category answers below.
Which has the lower annual fee?
The Hilton Honors American Express Surpass Card ($150 a year, against $550).
Which is better for groceries?
The Hilton Honors American Express Aspire Card. On $500 a month of groceries it earns about $90 a year, against $30 with the Hilton Honors American Express Surpass Card.
Which is better for dining?
The Hilton Honors American Express Aspire Card. On $400 a month of dining it earns about $168 a year, against $24 with the Hilton Honors American Express Surpass Card.
Which is better for travel?
The Hilton Honors American Express Aspire Card. On $300 a month of travel it earns about $54 a year, against $18 with the Hilton Honors American Express Surpass Card.
Which is better for gas?
The Hilton Honors American Express Aspire Card. On $200 a month of gas it earns about $36 a year, against $12 with the Hilton Honors American Express Surpass Card.
Put any two cards head to head.
Pick any cards, including ones you already hold, and compare them on your own spending.
Open CompareRelated comparisons
Card details are collected from issuer websites and were last refreshed October 29, 2026. Terms change often; confirm them with the issuer before you apply.

