Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit Card vs Bank of America Unlimited Cash Rewards Credit Card

Fees, rewards and real yearly value, side by side. Updated October 29, 2026.

Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit Card card artBank of America Unlimited Cash Rewards Credit Card card art

Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit Card

Estimated value every year on typical spending

$372/ year

Every year, after the annual fee. Year one adds a $200 welcome bonus: $572

+$372rewards−$0annual fee

Bank of America Unlimited Cash Rewards Credit Card

Estimated value every year on typical spending

$468/ year

Every year, after the annual fee. Year one adds a $250 welcome bonus: $718

+$468rewards−$0annual fee

The short answer

  • On typical spending, the Bank of America Unlimited Cash Rewards Credit Card comes out ahead: about $468 a year after its fee, against $372 for the Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit Card.
  • The Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit Card earns more on groceries.
  • The Bank of America Unlimited Cash Rewards Credit Card earns more on dining, gas, travel, everything else.

Side by side

Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit CardBank of America Unlimited Cash Rewards Credit Card
Annual fee$0$0
Rewards6% cash back in the category of your choice for the first year; 3% cash back in that category after the first year; 2% cash back at grocery stores and wholesale clubs; 1% cash back on all other purchases1.5% cash back on all purchases
Welcome bonus$200 online cash rewards bonus after making at least $1,000 in purchases in the first 90 days of your account opening.$250 cash rewards bonus after making at least $1,000 in purchases in the first 90 days of your account opening.
Credits counted$0/yr$0/yr
Intro APR0% for the first 15 billing cycles0% for the first 15 billing cycles
Regular APR17.74% to 27.74% variable17.74% to 27.74% variable
Foreign transaction feeNoneNone
Credit neededNot specifiedNot specified

Yearly rewards by category

Category (monthly spend)Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit CardBank of America Unlimited Cash Rewards Credit Card
groceries ($500)$120$90
dining ($400)$48$72
gas ($200)$24$36
travel ($300)$36$54
everything else ($1,200)$144$216

Yearly value is rewards plus credits you'd realistically use, minus the annual fee, on $2,600/month: $500 groceries, $400 dining, $200 gas, $300 travel, $1,200 everything else. Points use conservative cash values; store-only rewards count at half. How we rank · Use your own spending

Questions people ask

Which is better, the Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit Card or the Bank of America Unlimited Cash Rewards Credit Card?

On typical spending the Bank of America Unlimited Cash Rewards Credit Card is worth more: about $468 a year after its fee, against $372 for the Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit Card. Which is better for you depends on where you spend most; see the category answers below.

Which is better for groceries?

The Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit Card. On $500 a month of groceries it earns about $120 a year, against $90 with the Bank of America Unlimited Cash Rewards Credit Card.

Which is better for dining?

The Bank of America Unlimited Cash Rewards Credit Card. On $400 a month of dining it earns about $72 a year, against $48 with the Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit Card.

Which is better for travel?

The Bank of America Unlimited Cash Rewards Credit Card. On $300 a month of travel it earns about $54 a year, against $36 with the Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit Card.

Which is better for gas?

The Bank of America Unlimited Cash Rewards Credit Card. On $200 a month of gas it earns about $36 a year, against $24 with the Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit Card.

Put any two cards head to head.

Pick any cards, including ones you already hold, and compare them on your own spending.

Open Compare

Related comparisons

Card details are collected from issuer websites and were last refreshed October 29, 2026. Terms change often; confirm them with the issuer before you apply.