Southwest Rapid Rewards Plus Credit Card vs Southwest Rapid Rewards Priority Credit Card

Fees, rewards and real yearly value, side by side. Updated October 29, 2026.

Southwest Rapid Rewards Plus Credit Card card artSouthwest Rapid Rewards Priority Credit Card card art

Southwest Rapid Rewards Plus Credit Card

Estimated value every year on typical spending

$337/ year

Every year, after the annual fee. Year one adds a $550 welcome bonus: $887

+$436rewards−$99annual fee

Southwest Rapid Rewards Priority Credit Card

Estimated value every year on typical spending

$276/ year

Every year, after the annual fee. Year one adds a $660 welcome bonus: $936

+$422rewards+$83credits & perks−$229annual fee

The short answer

  • On typical spending, the Chase Southwest Rapid Rewards Plus Credit Card comes out ahead: about $337 a year after its fee, against $276 for the Chase Southwest Rapid Rewards Priority Credit Card.
  • In the first year the welcome bonus flips it: the Chase Southwest Rapid Rewards Priority Credit Card is worth about $936 in year one.
  • The Chase Southwest Rapid Rewards Plus Credit Card earns more on groceries.
  • The Chase Southwest Rapid Rewards Priority Credit Card earns more on dining.
  • The Chase Southwest Rapid Rewards Plus Credit Card costs $130 less a year to hold.

Side by side

Southwest Rapid Rewards Plus Credit CardSouthwest Rapid Rewards Priority Credit Card
Annual fee$99$229
Rewards2X points on Southwest Airlines purchases and on the first $5,000 in combined purchases at gas stations and grocery stores per year; 1X points on all other purchases4X points on Southwest Airlines purchases; 2X points at gas stations and restaurants; 1 point on all other purchases
Welcome bonusEarn 50,000 bonus points after you spend $1,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening.Earn 60,000 bonus points after you spend $2,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening.
Credits counted$0/yr$83/yr
Intro APRNot listedNot listed
Regular APR19.49% to 27.99% variable19.49% to 27.99% variable
Foreign transaction feeNoneNone
Credit neededNot specifiedNot specified

Yearly rewards by category

Category (monthly spend)Southwest Rapid Rewards Plus Credit CardSouthwest Rapid Rewards Priority Credit Card
groceries ($500)$132$66
dining ($400)$53$106
gas ($200)$53$53
travel ($300)$40$40
everything else ($1,200)$158$158

Yearly value is rewards plus credits you'd realistically use, minus the annual fee, on $2,600/month: $500 groceries, $400 dining, $200 gas, $300 travel, $1,200 everything else. Points use conservative cash values; store-only rewards count at half. How we rank · Use your own spending

Questions people ask

Which is better, the Chase Southwest Rapid Rewards Plus Credit Card or the Chase Southwest Rapid Rewards Priority Credit Card?

On typical spending the Chase Southwest Rapid Rewards Plus Credit Card is worth more: about $337 a year after its fee, against $276 for the Chase Southwest Rapid Rewards Priority Credit Card. Which is better for you depends on where you spend most; see the category answers below.

Which has the lower annual fee?

The Chase Southwest Rapid Rewards Plus Credit Card ($99 a year, against $229).

Which is better for groceries?

The Chase Southwest Rapid Rewards Plus Credit Card. On $500 a month of groceries it earns about $132 a year, against $66 with the Chase Southwest Rapid Rewards Priority Credit Card.

Which is better for dining?

The Chase Southwest Rapid Rewards Priority Credit Card. On $400 a month of dining it earns about $106 a year, against $53 with the Chase Southwest Rapid Rewards Plus Credit Card.

Put any two cards head to head.

Pick any cards, including ones you already hold, and compare them on your own spending.

Open Compare

Related comparisons

Card details are collected from issuer websites and were last refreshed October 29, 2026. Terms change often; confirm them with the issuer before you apply.